A Reason for the Hope

But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear.

1 Peter 3:15 [kjv]

 

I was married at 21 years old to my very best friend. We had our future planned out, and we just knew our love would get us through anything. Well, we also had a lot to learn.

“I know, O Lord, that the way of man is not in himself, that it is not in man who walks to direct his steps.” Jeremiah 10:23 [ESV]

 Two years after our marriage, I was diagnosed with an untreatable form of Degenerative Disc Disease. The “norm” for this disease is degeneration in one or two discs. I had it in seven. I also had nerve and muscle complications too. Anyhow, within a short year, I was bedridden and told that I would never be able to carry a child…by 20 different doctors. In order to maintain a better quality of life, I was put on a very high dose of narcotics, muscle relaxers, and even valium.

Well, as God loves to do, He wanted to teach me to sacrifice my deepest desire to Him. After about six years, I finally gave in. I told Him that I would do and be whatever and whoever He wanted. Several months later, through a strange series of events that could only have been ordained by God, I was given a “green light” for pregnancy by one doctor. We took it as a sign from God, and in one week, I was pregnant with our first child.

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”Matthew 6:33 [KJV]

I would be pregnant seven times total over a period of six years. I lost two children between each of my three living children. After my first two losses, while I was pregnant with my second living son, I began writing “Joy Comes with the Mourning.” I had no plans to write a book, but again, God had other plans. Then, out of the book, the idea for Perfect Joy Ministries was born. PJM began in May 2012 and has ministered to hundreds of hurting women all over the world. I have been blessed to have had the privilege to reach out and minister to these women (and even many husbands, as well) over the past few years.

“Who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 2 Corinthians 1:4 [ESV]

 I know that God isn’t done with me yet. Here is a little something that I have learned about the reason for my hope.

As humans, we hope for several reasons:

  1. We believe that what we hope for has a reasonable chance of happening.
  2. Based on prior experiences, we have faith in the person we are hoping in to fulfill our desire.
  3. The alternative is too sad, frustrating, terrible, or disappointing to allow us to give up hope.

Why all of these reasons are wrong:

  1. With God, all things are possible. He delights in doing what seems unreasonable or unbelievable. If He desires you or I to have a child in our arms, there is nothing we can do or fail to do, that will change that outcome. The way He accomplishes this may be different than what we would have planned, but it will happen as He desires. “Many are the plans in the mind of a man, but it is the purpose of the Lord that will stand.” Proverbs 19:21 [ESV]
  2. God never fails. No one can thwart His plan. God has designed a “blueprint” of our lives from before the foundations of the world. He has complete and total control over all things and over all people. Nothing or no one can stand in His way. “I know that you [God] can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.” Job 42:2 [ESV]
  3. As a Christian, we know that if our desires are not fulfilled, God has a better plan for us. God always chooses the best, easiest, and most painless way to accomplish His will in our lives and to make us more like His Son. We never need to fear the alternative to our desire, if it is God’s will for us. “If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!” Matthew 7:11 [ESV]

Our hope should be in God. Period. If we hope in anything – yes, anything – besides God, we are placing our hope in shifting sand. God’s way is the right way every time – in His time. We can always rest assured that our hopes will be acknowledged, understood, and fulfilled in the perfect way. Again, it may not be the way we would choose, but it is always the best way.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.” Romans 15:13 [ESV]

Original material by Holly M. Besser. Originally posted on Mommies with Hope. Perfect Joy Ministries ©2014. May not be used or re-printed without permission. bsbp45p05-10-14

Leave a Reply

