Trust the “French-Fry Lady”

I’m not good at directions. Okay, so that’s understating it a bit. My husband recently purchased a GPS for a trip, and I’ve been thrilled at the new-found freedom. My five-year-old calls the mysterious voice of the lady giving directions “The French-Fry Lady.” In his mind, she sounds a lot like the voice of the lady, who takes our order at the fast-food drive-thru. (Somehow, in my mind, the GPS loses a bit of credibility with that comparison, but we humor him.)

Nonetheless, I was using it just yesterday, and it got me thinking. Using a GPS is a little like using God’s Word in our spiritual life. We know the final destination, but we have no idea the path we are going to have to take to get there. We take the next correct turn, and then the next, and the next. We might run into some thick traffic or frustrating construction. We might take a detour – either by accident or through our own human wisdom. We allow the system to recalculate and we get back on the highlighted route.

I remember how nervous I was the first few times that I used the GPS. I was a bit concerned that it would get me half way to my destination and then, leave me lost. I drove roads and highways that I’ve never seen before, and worried that I might never see something familiar again. However, in the end, I always got there. I don’t know if it took me the very best way or the very fastest way. I could have wasted time comparing the system commands to paper maps and online sites, but in the end, I would still end up at the same place.

How often do we find ourselves debating the next step in life? How often do we question our current circumstances? We have God’s GPS to follow, and know the next correct turn, but we double-guess it. Will God get us half-way and then, let us go? Will He pick the improper timing and get us stuck in needless traffic? Worst of all, maybe He doesn’t really know where we need to go, and He’ll send us the wrong direction.

And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ. Philippians 1:6

Behold, I go forward, but he is not there, and backward, but I do not perceive him; on the left hand when he is working, I do not behold him; he turns to the right hand, but I do not see him. But he knows the way that I take; when he has tried me, I shall come out as gold. My foot has held fast to his steps; I have kept his way and have not turned aside. I have not departed from the commandment of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my portion of food. But he is unchangeable, and who can turn him back? What he desires, that he does. For he will complete what he appoints for me. Job 23:8-14b

The truly awesome thing is that Christ goes before us. He doesn’t ask us to go alone. We follow Him, as we follow His voice.

When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. John 10:4

And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” Luke 9:23

Remember, we are not home yet. Our final destination is heaven. We aren’t supposed to feel comfortable or feel like we belong. We aren’t usually going to feel like we are where we need to be. We are only on a trip. Follow the voice of the Guide, and stay on course. Finish the journey and arrive at the final destination in victory.

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path. Psalm 119:105

And we have the prophetic word more fully confirmed, to which you will do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star rises in your hearts. 2 Peter 1:19

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, will award to me on that Day, and not only to me but also to all who have loved his appearing. II Timothy 4:7-8

This song always brings me to tears. The words are simple, but oh, so true!

Where I Belong – Building 429
http://youtu.be/3F81afXrcA4

Sometimes it feels like I’m watching from the outside
Sometimes it feels like I’m breathing but am I alive
I will keep searching for answers that aren’t here to find

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

So when the walls come falling down on me
And when I’m lost in the current of a raging sea
I have this blessed assurance holding me.

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

When the earth shakes I wanna be found in You
When the lights fade I wanna be found in You

All I know is I’m not home yet
This is not where I belong
Take this world and give me Jesus
This is not where I belong

Original material by Holly M. Besser. Perfect Joy Ministries ©2013. May not be used or re-printed without permission. bsbp38p07-18-13

Join our private chat on facebook

Leave a Reply

