Is God’s Grace Truly Sufficient?

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.  2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Grace: Receiving what we don’t deserve.

Sufficient: Enough to meet the needs of a situation or a proposed end – not too little, not too much, just the right amount.

1. God knows exactly what we need. Many times, it’s not what we think we need. We often expect much more than is actually necessary.

Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?  Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all.  But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.  Matthew 6:26-34

***Our unbelief is not a reflection or indicator of God’s ability or power.***

2. We need to be content with where we are right now.  We spend too much time dwelling on the “what-ifs” and the “should-have-beens,” instead of living in the now. We waste precious moments that we can never get back on mental hypotheticals.

Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me.  Philippians 4:11-13

3. We must allow God to provide the appropriate grace in His timing. It may be that God doesn’t want us to accomplish what we think we need to at this point in time.  We need to believe that He will provide what is necessary to accomplish the task that He wants completed, when He wants it completed. Often, suffering is part of grace and part of what God is doing in our lives. Restoration and redemption is coming…in His time.

And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace, who has called you to his eternal glory in Christ, will himself restore, confirm, strengthen, and establish you.  I Peter 5:10

4. We must have the faith without the sight, knowing that God’s plan is best. Sometimes, it’s a matter of us just not wanting to do the next right thing in life, and sometimes, it’s a matter of us falling down and saying, “I CAN’T!” We must trust and take that next step, and when we are incapable of stepping out on our own strength, we must learn to lean on God completely.

I can do all things through him who strengthens me.  Philippians 4:13

Seek the Lord and his strength; seek his presence continually!  1 Chronicles 16:11

Thus says the Lord: “Cursed is the man who trusts in man and makes flesh his strength, whose heart turns away from the Lord.  Jeremiah 17:5

***Your “I CAN’T” moment can be a breaking point or a blessing point.***

Original material by Holly M. Besser, ©2013. May not be used or re-printed without permission. bp40p06-16-13

Join our private chat on facebook

One thought on “Is God’s Grace Truly Sufficient?

  1. Pingback: From Fear to Faith – Part II | Perfect Joy Ministries

Leave a Reply

