Stage 7 – Acceptance/Hope

Here is the final stage in the grief process review.  Next week we will continue with new material.

Kubler-Ross Model:

This is not saying that everything is “okay,” like the world might want to hear from you. Rather it’s the stage where we can admit, “It is not okay. . . but God. . . !”

It’s not okay . . . but God’s grace is sufficient.

It’s not okay . . . but in eternity, in God’s presence, it will be.

It’s not okay . . . but God is, and will continue, to use this for His glory.

It’s not okay . . . but God is teaching me how to live my new normal with this grief.

It’s not okay . . . but because of God, I have hope there is a bigger story and this grief will be redeemed.

It’s not okay. . . but God!

The Seven Stages of Grief:

Again, this is not saying it’s “Okay” but instead,

“It’s not okay. . . but GOD!”

A Biblical Response:

Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will not be shaken. My salvation and my honor depend on God; he is my mighty rock, my refuge. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge. Selah.  Psalm 62:5-8

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise him, my salvation and my God.  Psalm 42:11

A Healed Place

We know we have reached a healed place when our emotions find an even keel and stop bouncing all over the map – when we realize that life is finding a new normal and settling into a routine of purpose yet again.  We feel alive in a new way.  We have peace and joy.

Most importantly, as Christians, we believe there is a final stage of grief that proves that true healing has been reached.  This is when we begin to tell our story for the purpose of:

  • Love – reaching out with compassion to others who are grieving.
  • Truth – sharing the absolute truth of God.
  • Hope – giving others something to believe in, when everything seems hopeless.
  • Joy – proving that God can bring blessing in disguise.
  • Peace – seeing others find peace through pain.
  • Faith – living a surrendered life that brings glory to God.
  • Kindness – caring about someone else enough to temporarily stop our lives for them.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23

Who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. 2 Corinthians 1:4

Original material by Melissa J Carswell, MA, BCCC.  Holly M Besser.  Perfect Joy Ministries ©2012. May not be used or re-printed without permission.  bsbp009p9-28-12

Join our private chat on facebook


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s