Stage 5 – The Upward Turn

The Seven Stages of Grief:

The time comes when we realize life is going to go on and we can either be a part of it, or we can stay in the endless cycle of anger, guilt, depression, and loneliness.

It takes courage to reach this place.

In some ways, reaching this place often brings a new guilt. “How dare we be happy again?”  A laugh erupts, a good day happens, and a fear may creep in that we’re forgetting.  We may even be able to tell our story with a few less tears and a few more smiles. These prior stages have become our new normal, and they feel almost like an emotional shrine for the circumstances that brought them about in the first place. To leave them is to enter new, unfamiliar territory – a different life than we had before the tragedy and a different life than we’ve had while grieving.  It is the unknown of a new normal – the new normal for the rest of life, and also a new normal of ourselves.

A Biblical Response:

The following promise is so very precious:

 Behold, I [God] will do something new, Now it will spring forth. Will you not be aware of it?  I will even make a roadway in the wilderness, Rivers in the desert.  Isaiah 43:19

As Christians, we are told to expect trials.  We are told they will make us stronger.  We are also reminded over and over again that God will be with us through all of them.  We need to concentrate on obedience to God and to His Word, and allow Him to mould us into a vessel fit for His use.

Therefore, if anyone cleanses himself from what is dishonorable, he will be a vessel for honorable use, set apart as holy, useful to the master of the house, ready for every good work. 2 Timothy 2:21

Original material by Melissa J Carswell, MA, BCCC.  Holly M Besser.  Perfect Joy Ministries ©2012. May not be used or re-printed without permission.  bsbp007p9-20-12

Join our private chat on facebook


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s