In the Cleft of the Rock

Moses said, “Please show me your glory.” And he said, “I will make all my goodness pass before you and will proclaim before you my name ‘The Lord.’ And I will be gracious to whom I will be gracious, and will show mercy on whom I will show mercy. But,” he said, “you cannot see my face, for man shall not see me and live.” And the Lord said, “Behold, there is a place by me where you shall stand on the rock, and while my glory passes by I will put you in a cleft of the rock, and I will cover you with my hand until I have passed by. Then I will take away my hand, and you shall see my back, but my face shall not be seen.” Exodus 33:18-23

1. Often, we mistake the darkness for God forsaking us. Sometimes the darkness is where we actually find God. Think of all of the people in the Bible that experienced God in this way:

a. The children of Israel – each time God visited them, He was surrounded in darkness, clouds, and often, fire.
b. Samuel – God called to him in his sleep, in the darkness.
c. Jonah – in the dark belly of the fish.
c. Jacob – God wrestled with him through the night.
d. David – wrote countless Psalms about God meeting him, while he laid in bed in the dark.
e. Paul and Silas – in the darkness of prison.
f. The blind man – Jesus met him and healed him in his darkness.

2. Sometimes, the darkness is the safest place for us. When we are in the center of God’s will, especially when He has purposely placed us in the darkness, we can be sure that we are covered by the full protection of his hand.

3. We have to trust that we will see His glory at a later time – whether in this life or the next. Our human bodies and minds cannot handle the greatness of God in its fullness. He will only allow us to see what He wants us to see and what He knows we can take. We just simply cannot process in the same dimensions that our God abides in.

4. As I always say, It’s not about us, it’s all about HIM! If He chooses to share His glory with us, we must allow Him to share what, when, and how He desires, without questioning.

If I say, Surely the darkness shall cover me; even the night shall be light about me. Yea, the darkness hideth not from thee; but the night shineth as the day: the darkness and the light are both alike to thee. Psalm 139:11-12

Original material by Holly M. Besser, ©2013. May not be used or re-printed without permission. bp37p05-20-13

Join our private chat on facebook

Leave a Reply

