Filling Peace

This is some thoughts and a poem by Heather Javalgi, who attends to the correspondence for PJM.
“Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you.  I do not give it as the world gives, do not let your heart be troubled and do not be afraid.” -John 14:27
As Jesus gets ready to say goodbye to His disciples, He doesn’t make promises of good times and well-being, but He does go one step further than that. He offers Himself. His Spirit inside of them, and with His Spirit, peace.  The beautiful thing about the verse above, is that although we are advised to not let our hearts be troubled or afraid, the peace part is up to our Father. It is something He does, something He promises to give in a way that the world may not even understand.  For me, it has taken time. Three years and three 9-week miscarriages and slowly I’ve found that Father has met me here, and it’s here that He has somehow found a way to give peace.
Hourglass does his job,
slips the minutes away.
One more year come and gone,
one more month, one more day.
It does get easier.
The pain is not as sharp.
A dullness instead resides,
inside my healing heart.
I cannot forget a life,
hopes, dreams, excitement, plans,
and all that is involved,
the moment baby’s heart began.
I cannot forget the unborn child,
my precious little three.
Who they would have been
whom I never got to see.
The hope I have in place of sight,
in place of moments lost,
instead of healthy breathing child,
peace has filled her spot.
And if anything should fill her shoes,
or his, or theirs, or future loss,
Father will again respond
and peace will fill her spot.

Original material by Heather Javalgi, ©2013.  May not be used or re-printed without permission.  bp3404-21-13

Leave a Reply

