Fill Me Up!

I am the Lord thy God, which brought thee out of the land of Egypt: open thy mouth wide, and I will fill it. Psalm 81:10

With what should we be filled, and how do we accomplish that? 

I’ll be the first to admit that being filled with the proper emotions and desires is extremely difficult.  However, how often do we find ourselves trying to fill our own cup?  I went through over 400 verses that talked about being “filled” or “full” of something.  Whenever someone “filled” themselves, it was a negative thing.  Whenever God did the “filling,” it was positive.  That is the key…God must do the “filling.”

Another key idea is that we must be willing and ready.  We must open our hearts and lives to His filling and we must come empty and hungry, prepared to be filled. If we go to God with lives filled with bitterness, anger, sadness, hurt, resentment, etc., God cannot fill us with something else.  We must be poured out and empty before Him.

So, what should we be filled with?

  • Filled with the wisdom of God.

And I have filled him with the spirit of God, in wisdom, and in understanding, and in knowledge, and in all manner of workmanship. Exodus 31:3

Them hath he filled with wisdom of heart. Exodus 35:35a

And I myself also am persuaded of you, my brethren, that ye also are full of goodness, filled with all knowledge, able also to admonish one another. Romans 15:14

For this cause we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to desire that ye might be filled with the knowledge of his will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding. Colossians 1:9

  • Filled with blessings from God.

That thou givest them they gather: thou openest thine hand, they are filled with good. Psalm 104:28

For he satisfieth the longing soul, and filleth the hungry soul with goodness. Psalm 107:9

He hath filled the hungry with good things. Luke 1:53a

Blessed are ye that hunger now: for ye shall be filled. Blessed are ye that weep now: for ye shall laugh. Luke 6:21

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Psalm 23:5

  • Filled with rejoicing and thanksgiving.

Till he fill thy mouth with laughing, and thy lips with rejoicing. Job 8:21

Let my mouth be filled with thy praise and with thy honour all the day. Psalm 71:8

Then was our mouth filled with laughter, and our tongue with singing: then said they among the heathen, The Lord hath done great things for them. Psalm 126:2

  • Filled with the power of the Holy Spirit.

But truly I am full of power by the spirit of the Lord, and of judgment, and of might. Micah 3:8a

But be filled with the Spirit. Ephesians 5:18b

  • Filled with righteousness.

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled. Matthew 5:6

Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God. Philippians 1:11

  • Filled with light/holiness.

The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light. Matthew 6:22

  • Filled with the joy of the Lord.

(Remember, happiness is focused on circumstance.  Joy is focused on God. Circumstances change. God never changes. Our joy should be solid and constant.)

These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full. John 15:11

Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full. John 16:24

Thou hast made known to me the ways of life; thou shalt make me full of joy with thy countenance. Acts 2:28

Now the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that ye may abound in hope, through the power of the Holy Ghost. Romans 15:13

And these things write we unto you, that your joy may be full. 1 John 1:4

  • Filled with God Himself.

Can any hide himself in secret places that I shall not see him? saith the Lord. Do not I fill heaven and earth? saith the Lord. Jeremiah 23:24

And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God. Ephesians 3:19

The Lord is my chosen portion and my cup; you hold my lot. Psalm 16:5

I saw the Lord always before me, for he is at my right hand that I may not be shaken; therefore my heart was glad, and my tongue rejoiced; my flesh also will dwell in hope. For you will not abandon my soul to Hades, or let your Holy One see corruption. You have made known to me the paths of life; you will make me full of gladness with your presence. Acts 2:25-28

“Fill My Cup, Lord”  Listen at http://youtu.be/s4l2yY2r95g 

It’s not about us, it’s about HIM!

Original material by Holly M. Besser, Perfect Joy Ministries©2013. May not be used or re-printed without permission. bp29p03-11-13

Join our private chat on facebook

One thought on “Fill Me Up!

Leave a Reply

