Big God, Little Details

I often remember as a child, sitting outside, under the huge sky, talking to God about my problems. I remember wondering how and why He would even care. He is just so big! I was just a high school girl with a bad hair-do and second-hand clothes. However, as I have continued to grow in my faith and in my knowledge of God, I have no doubt that my God delights in the details – in my details.  I’d like to share some verses to encourage you and give you the courage to go to God with the little details in your life.

Isaiah 40:11

He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead those that are with young.

Jeremiah 1:5a

Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you.

Psalm 56:8

You have kept count of my tossings; put my tears in your bottle. Are they not in your book?

Psalm 23:4

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

Isaiah 49:13

Sing for joy, O heavens, and exult, O earth; break forth, O mountains, into singing! For the Lord has comforted his people and will have compassion on his afflicted.

Matthew 5:4

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.

II Corinthians 1:3-4

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.

2 Corinthians 1:5

For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too.

Isaiah 49:15-16a

Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.

Psalm 95:7

For he is our God, and we are the people of his pasture, and the sheep of his hand.

Isaiah 46:4

Even to your old age I am he, and to gray hairs I will carry you. I have made, and I will bear; I will carry and will save.

Psalm 54:4

Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life.

Psalm 63:8

My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me.

Psalm 145:14

The Lord upholds all who are falling and raises up all who are bowed down.

Isaiah 41:10

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Psalm 116:8

For you have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling.

God cares! Run to Him with your hurt, with your pain, and even with your little details!

Original material by Holly M. Besser, ©2013. May not be used or re-printed without permission. bp26p02-10-13

Join our private chat on facebook

Leave a Reply

