If You Could See Me Now

Today, I would like to share this post from a member of our Perfect Joy Bible Study, Ruth Wells.  It is a sweet reminder of our hope as children of God. Thank you for sharing this precious part of your story with us, Ruth.

This song was written for us by Sam’s brother Josh [Ruth’s brother-in-law] when he learned we had a fourth little one in heaven. It touched us so much that we could not keep it to ourselves, in case it could be a blessing to others as well.

If You Could See Me Now

Little child, I never held you in my arms,

Even though I carried you so tenderly.

Little child, I never saw your smile’s charm,

Even though you brought so many smiles to me.

But even though I never touched your face so soft and small,

Never wiped away your precious tears;

And even though I never heard your laughing down the hall

Or soothed away your childhood fears,

If I could see you now,

If I could hear your voice,

I know I’d find you resting in the grace

Of the Father’s loving arms,

Safe from this world’s hurt and harm,

Singing praises in that blessed, happy Place.

I’ll always love you so,

And I long to have you near,

But you’re living in a far, far better Place;

It’s the Place that I call Home,

And I know you’re not alone.

I know that you would tell me this somehow,

If I could see you now.

Dearest mom, I never felt your warm embrace

But safe in your womb I felt your tender care.

Precious dad, though I never saw your face

When I heard your voice I knew your love was there.

And even though I never got to live a lifetime long

And never felt your gentle hands on mine;

And even though you never heard me sing my childhood songs

And I never saw your smiles so soft and kind,

If you could see me now,

If you could hear my voice,

You’d know I’m happy resting in the grace

Of the Father’s loving arms,

Ever safe from hurt and harm,

Singing praises in this blessed, happy Place.

I’ll always love you so,

And I long to have you near,

But I’m living in a far, far better Place.

It’s the Place that I call Home,

And I’ll never be alone.

I know that it would comfort you somehow

If you could see me now.

Racing up and down the golden streets in perfect joy,

Singing in the choir, playing in the Heavenly band.

You never got to see me as a little baby boy,

But one day soon you’ll see me as a man.

If you could see me now.

One day soon He’ll call you Home,

And we’ll live before the Throne,

Every sorrow wiped away as joys begin,

And we’ll see only Him.

But until then I know He’ll comfort you somehow.

Just look to Him for now.

If you could see me now.

ruth wells
For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Psalm 139:13-15

 

Copyright 2012, Perfect Joy Ministries, Ruth Wells.

Leave a Reply

