While I’m Waiting

The two week wait. Will this one result in pregnancy?

Waiting for that first ultrasound. Will there be a heartbeat this time?

Waiting for the twenty week ultrasound. Will there be abnormalities this time?

Waiting for weeks as the Doctor can’t figure out if you have a tubal or a molar pregnancy or any other pregnancy complication that could potentially exist. Only time will tell.

While we wait, we often revert into one of a few negative tendencies.

~ Some want to hibernate and do nothing until they know. Life takes too much effort. It’s easier to sit around, losing the mind in television or movies or mindless fiction. The house becomes a disaster, we eat food with no impulse control or we don’t eat at all. We sleep more than we need. We go into autopilot survival mode and it’s really not living. It’s existing.

~ Some of us develop an ulcer because all we can focus on is the “what ifs” and the worst-case scenarios. Not only does worry and fear affect our mind, it tears apart our physical health from the constant overload of stress hormones.

~ Some become angry. The worry results in irritability and easy frustration. We’re snapping at everyone around us and not at all showing the light of Christ from our faces and actions. Just the opposite, in fact.

~ We can also go into denial mode and never once deal with reality. We falsely promise ourselves that all will be well and refuse to accept anything differently. We become angry, when our spouse or another family member or friend tries to gently (or maybe not so gently) bring us into a reality check, by reminding us that this is a situation that needs to be talked through and worked through, in the preparation of what may be store. But we turn away and turn our ears off. Dealing with it is simply not an option on our radar.

A Godly Approach to Waiting.

~ “Do the next right thing.”  If the next right thing is to get out of bed and fix breakfast for your children, do it. If it’s to attend the MOPS group you’re in charge of, do it. If it’s to eat when you don’t feel like it, do it. It can literally become a one-step-in-front-of-the-other process, during this time, but all that is needed is the next step. And the next. And the next. When you cannot take the next step, allow God to carry you. Until you are at the place where you are no longer in the waiting.

The steps of a man are established by the Lord, when he delights in his way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong, for the Lord upholds his hand. Psalm 37:22-24

If we live by the Spirit, let us also keep in step with the Spirit. Galatians 5:25

He will tend his flock like a shepherd; he will gather the lambs in his arms; he will carry them in his bosom, and gently lead those that are with young. Isaiah 40:11

~ Find the balance between denial and dwelling on the worst-case. This is often easier said than done with these scenarios, but so crucial. There is a place for accepting what reality may be, but at the same time, not making that your main focus. We must learn how to control our thoughts and emotions, instead of allowing them to control us.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-10

The Lord knows the thoughts of the wise, that they are futile. 1 Corinthians 3:20

But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified. 1 Corinthians 9:27

~ Focus on God. God, God, God. His truth, His truth, His truth. It’s simplified to write that, so much more painfully difficult to do, but this is the lifeline in the waiting and the unknowns. When dwelling on the truth becomes a “habit” for us, it will allow us to “act” instead of “re-act,” when circumstances threaten to overwhelm our emotions.

You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you. Isaiah 26:3

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who practices sin is a slave to sin.  The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son remains forever.  So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed. John 8:31-32, 34-36

For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. Romans 8:6

Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect. Romans 12:2

~ Purposefully practice surrender. This is a continuing refrain in our studies and one we just have to return to time and again. While we find some sort of control in fighting and bargaining, in the end, our hearts are only devastated further by this. True release comes in surrender to His best and to His glory, though this is not often without tears of absolute devastation. Look at Christ in the Garden of Gesthemne. The cross and the hours before the cross were emotionally brutal. Just because Jesus was surrendered to his Father’s glory does not mean the cross was easy. And yet, eternal purposes were accomplished because of The Cross. This brings us to the final step.

Now then, let the fear of the LORD be upon you. Be careful what you do, for there is no injustice with the LORD our God, or partiality or taking bribes. 2 Chronicles 19:7

Submit yourselves therefore to God. James 4:7a

And going a little farther he [Jesus] fell on his face and prayed, saying, “My Father, if it be possible, let this cup pass from me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as you will.” Matthew 26:39

~ Remember in the waiting that this is not all there is. Another point we emphasize repeatedly. This is not all there is. There is an eternal purpose to all suffering and pain and heartbreak here on earth. A strong belief in this fact will bring a peace that passes all understanding. Someday, if we are children of Christ, we will understand why. And if He withholds understanding in eternity, even that will no longer matter when we gaze upon His face.

Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth. Colossians 3:2

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:7

http://youtu.be/H-M7oGrOa2I  (youtube video link)

While I’m Waiting

John Waller

I’m waiting, I’m waiting on You Lord
And I am hopeful, I’m waiting on You Lord
Though it is painful, but patiently I will wait

And I will move ahead bold and confident
Taking every step in obedience

While I’m waiting I will serve You
While I’m waiting I will worship
While I’m waiting I will not faint
I’ll be running the race even while I wait

I’m waiting, I’m waiting on You Lord
And I am peaceful, I’m waiting on You Lord
Though it’s not easy no, but faithfully I will wait
Yes, I will wait

And I will move ahead bold and confident
Taking every step in obedience

While I’m waiting I will serve You
While I’m waiting I will worship
While I’m waiting I will not faint
I’ll be running the race even while I wait

I will move ahead bold and confident
I’ll be taking every step in obedience, yeah

While I’m waiting I will serve You
While I’m waiting I will worship
While I’m waiting I will not faint

And I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting on You Lord

I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting
I will serve You while I’m waiting
I will worship while I’m waiting

And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding,

will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:7

Original material by Melissa J Carswell, MA, BCCC.  Holly M Besser.  Perfect Joy Ministries ©2012. May not be used or re-printed without permission.  bsbp019p01-03-13

 

Join our private chat on facebook

Leave a Reply

