Where is God?

Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence?

If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there!

If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,

even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.

Psalm 139:7-10

 1. He goes before us.

For you are my rock and my fortress; and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me. Psalm 31:3

Lead me, O LORD, in your righteousness because of my enemies; make your way straight before me. Psalm 5:8

2. He goes behind us.

You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me. Psalm 139:5

3. He is above us.

Our God is in the heavens; he does all that he pleases. Psalm 115:3

Be not rash with your mouth, nor let your heart be hasty to utter a word before God, for God is in heaven and you are on earth. Therefore let your words be few. Ecclesiastes 5:2

4. He is beneath us.

Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life. Psalm 54:4

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

On God rests my salvation and my glory; my mighty rock, my refuge is God. Psalm 62:7

5. He is beside us.

Nevertheless, I am continually with you; you hold my right hand. Psalm 73:23

For I, the LORD your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, “Fear not, I am the one who helps you.” Isaiah 41:13

6. He is a safe haven all around us.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1

Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us. Selah Psalm 62:8

The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing. Zephaniah 3:17

For he will hide me in his shelter in the day of trouble; he will conceal me under the cover of his tent; he will lift me high upon a rock. Psalm 27:5

7. He dwells within us.

Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own. 1 Corinthians 6:19

That they should seek God, and perhaps feel their way toward him and find him. Yet he is actually not far from each one of us, for in him we live and move and have our being. Acts 17:27-28a

8. He is always near to those who seek Him with their whole heart.

For what great nation is there that has a god so near to it as the LORD our God is to us, whenever we call upon him? Deuteronomy 4:7

But from there you will seek the LORD your God and you will find him, if you search after him with all your heart and with all your soul. Deuteronomy 4:29

I love those who love me, and those who seek me diligently find me. Proverbs 8:17

You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:13

9. God will never leave us…ever.

Even when you feel that you are in the darkest night or the deepest valley, He is always there.  Even when you cannot feel Him or see Him working.  It is then, that He carries us.

For the LORD your God is a merciful God. He will not leave you or destroy you or forget the covenant with your fathers that he swore to them. Deuteronomy 4:31

It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed. Deuteronomy 31:8

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Psalm 23:4

He has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5b

He shall feed his flock like a shepherd: he shall gather the lambs with his arm, and carry them in his bosom, and shall gently lead those that are with young. Isaiah 40:11

10. His promises are sure.

God will carry out what He promises.  You can bet your life on it…every time.

God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good? Numbers 23:19

Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. Hebrews 10:23

Original material by Holly M. Besser, ©2012. May not be used or re-printed without permission. bp20p12-17-12

Join our private chat on facebook

Please visit:  https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151195531403915

Leave a Reply

