I am the Potter, You are the Clay…Any Questions?

“Woe to him who strives with him who formed him, a pot among earthen pots! Does the clay say to him who forms it, ‘What are you making?’ or ‘Your work has no handles’?”  Isaiah 45:9

Do you find yourself questioning God? 

“Why did you give me this desire for children, when you won’t let me have them?  Why did You allow this?  Why won’t you fix my body?  Why didn’t you heal my child?  Why did you even let me get pregnant, just to take my baby away? Why? Why? Why?!?!”

There are many good Christians, who would say that questioning God is okay, that it’s natural and even healthy.  However, I do not agree with this mentality.  I think that, as humans, we love to find excuses for doing what we want to do, even if it’s the wrong thing.  Questioning may be an initial reaction, but as mentioned before, if we allow God’s truth to invade our thinking, we will respond with a proper attitude.  We will find that, once again, God’s truth will give us freedom.

Let’s take a minute to see what the Scriptures say about questioning our Maker.

Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind and said:“Who is this that darkens counsel by words without knowledge?  Dress for actionlike a man; I will question you, and you make it known to me.“Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth? Tell me, if you have understanding. Job 38:1-4 (see entire chapter)

And the Lord said to Job: “Shall a faultfinder contend with the Almighty?  He who argues with God, let him answer it.” Then Job answered the Lord and said: “Behold, I am of small account; what shall I answer you? I lay my hand on my mouth.  I have spoken once, and I will not answer; twice, but I will proceed no further.” Then the Lord answered Job out of the whirlwind and said: “Dress for action like a man.  I will question you, and you make it known to me. Will you even put me in the wrong? Will you condemn me that you may be in the right? Job 40:1-8

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9

God is completely in control of all things.

“I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted. Job 42:2

Your faithfulness endures to all generations; you have established the earth, and it stands fast. By your appointment they stand this day, for all things are your servants. If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction. Psalm 119:90-92

But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible. Matthew 19:26

And again, “The Lord knows the thoughts of the wise, that they are futile.” So let no one boast in men. For all things are yours. 1 Corinthians 3:20-22

 Yet for us there is one God, the Father, from whom are all things and for whom we exist, and one Lord, Jesus Christ, through whom are all things and through whom we exist.  1 Corinthians 8:6

For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together. Colossians 1:16-17

Even Jesus is subject to The Father’s will.

And he said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for you. Remove this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.” Mark 14:36

When all things are subjected to him, then the Son himself will also be subjected to him who put all things in subjection under him, that God may be all in all. 1 Corinthians 15:28

He is pure and holy, and does no wrong.  He does all things for our good and for His own glory.

“Therefore, hear me, you men of understanding: far be it from God that he should do wickedness, and from the Almighty that he should do wrong.”  Job 34:10

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose…He who did not spare his own Son but gave him up for us all, how will he not also with him graciously give us all things? Romans 8:28, 32

In him we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to the counsel of his will, so that we who were the first to hope in Christ might be to the praise of his glory. Ephesians 1:11-12

If we belong to Him, His control is our comfort.

All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.  Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:27-28

I can do all things through him who strengthens me. Philippians 4:13

 This is my comfort in my affliction, that your promise gives me life. Psalm 119:50

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ’s sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too. 2 Corinthians 1:3-5

Now may our Lord Jesus Christ himself, and God our Father, who loved us and gave us eternal comfort and good hope through grace, comfort your hearts and establish them in every good work and word.  2 Thessalonians 2:15-17

 Now, really, why do we feel the need to question God?  Let Him control what He created.  He truly knows best.

Original material by Holly M. Besser, ©2012.  May not be used or re-printed without permission.  bp011p9-30-12
2 thoughts on “I am the Potter, You are the Clay…Any Questions?

  1. I do ask God questions. I cry out to God. I engage with God. In the end, I praise Him but like King David – I say how long Lord will you allow this or that to go on. You know what in my questioning, God has called me curious. In my questioning, God saw my seeking and brought me near to him. If I never dare to question God, he would just be a rulemaster and one I just must obey. He is that but he is so much nearer. He is inside us when we are born again. He is the God that comes down from His throne and allows men to question Him, beat him, spit on him and still show his great love in saying “please father forgive them for they know not what they do.” I love how he calls me curious and not rebellious when my heart has been renewed by his. Let God say I am the one that asks questions. I am the one who made you. Look at Mary’s response when she is told by Gabriel that she was going to have a baby – how can this be? THis is a question! She was not rebuked. On the other hand when Zechariah questioned, he was made to not be able to speak until after John was born. I believe we can share God but we look on the outside and God looks on the inside. People who have ears to hear will hear and eyes that will see and hearts to perceive and understand.

    I read this:
    Question: “Is it wrong to question God?”

    Answer: At issue is not whether we should question God, but in what manner—and for what reason—we question Him. To question God is not in itself wrong. The prophet Habakkuk had questions for God concerning the timing and agency of the Lord’s plan. Habakkuk, rather than being rebuked for his questions, is patiently answered, and the prophet ends his book with a song of praise to the Lord. Many questions are put to God in the Psalms (Psalms 10, 44, 74, 77). These are the cries of the persecuted who are desperate for God’s intervention and salvation. Although God does not always answer our questions in the way we want, we conclude from these passages that a sincere question from an earnest heart is welcomed by God.

    Insincere questions, or questions from a hypocritical heart, are a different matter. “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him” (Hebrews 11:6). After King Saul had disobeyed God, his questions went unanswered (1 Samuel 28:6). It is entirely different to wonder why God allowed a certain event than it is to directly question God’s goodness. Having doubts is different from questioning God’s sovereignty and attacking His character. In short, an honest question is not a sin, but a bitter, untrusting, or rebellious heart is. God is not intimidated by questions. God invites us to enjoy close fellowship with Him. When we “question God,” it should be from a humble spirit and open mind. We can question God, but we should not expect an answer unless we are genuinely interested in His answer. God knows our hearts, and knows whether we are genuinely seeking Him to enlighten us. Our heart attitude is what determines whether it is right or wrong to question God.

  2. I believe that we are on the same page. In a short blog, it is hard to go into huge detail and sometimes, it is hard to express a rather complex topic in a few short words; however, I agree that asking God, “How can this be used for Your glory and for my good?” is much different than questioning His goodness or His supreme control over our lives. Many times, I do believe that God wants us to obey without question, just as we sometimes require that of our earthly children. Because God’s ways and thoughts are so far beyond us, we would often not understand His reasoning, even if He saw fit to share it with us. Honestly, I have found freedom in not needing an answer to what happens in my life. We are told in Scripture to ask for wisdom and to be thankful in all things. This is what I aspire to do, not that I always achieve this goal.

Leave a Reply

